Ectodermal Dysplasia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A Meeting Place For People With ED!

HomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
We appreciate your continued support - please spread the word!

I'm so happy!!

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Lisa

Lisa

Female
Number of posts : 36
Registration date : 2006-07-22

I'm so happy!! Empty
PostSubject: I'm so happy!!   I'm so happy!! EmptyThu 24 Aug 2006 - 21:22

After years of treatment at Birmingham dental hospital I was discharged not really happy.

I still had a bottom set of dentures, a bridge which wasn't too bad, some milk teeth which I hated and some gaps. I was told when I was little that I would have a perfect set off teeth by the time i was 20ish.

I got a fear of the dentist after being discharged and it was a fair few years before my mum got me booked into her dentist for a check up. I had to have a few fillings but nothing major. Then I got an abscess forming under one of my milk teeth...great just what i needed!

Anyway the dentist took it out and said he would refer me back to Birmingham... but not to get too excited as they would either bridge the gap or if i was lucky put an implant in.

I saw a great dentist when I went....he had a look and said ok go have an x-ray and come back up and we will have a look. He sat and looked at the x-ray and I though I was a lost cause...

He then said..Ok...we can either bridge it or,... if you want we can give you braces, get rid of your dentures, take out your milk teeth and bridge, put in bone grafts and give you implants and veneers... affraid I nearly started crying!!! It will take a bout 4 years but the choice is yours.. OMG.. I can't belive it I had wanted this since I was little!! I said YES PLEASE!!!